Originally a convent, St. Johnann was founded in the 12th century. It has been inhabited and staffed by Benedictine nuns since that time. The history of the well-preserved convent extends over 1200 years back to the reign of the great Franconian King Charlemagne. The narrative handed down over the years in Val Müstairregarding the founding of the convent by Charlemagne himself in 775, was confirmed by recent growth ring analyses of the beams.
This important church building has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1983. The monastery museum in the Planta Tower showcases archaeological finds, art treasures, and everyday monastic life from the 1200-year history of the monastery.
St. Johann can also be reached on foot as part of a beautiful hike.
A winter storm at the Umbrail Pass
In Romansh, the women's convent of St. Johann, which was built during the reign of Charlemagne around 775, is called "Clostra Son Jon." According to legend, the young regent came across the Alps on his way back from Paviaas the newly crowned king of the Lombards. After being affected by a life-threatening winter storm at the Umbrail Pass, he founded this convent in the Münstertal valley. This is how the story is told in Müstair. And until not so long ago, 28 January, the anniversary of Charlemagne's death was a public holiday in Müstair on which even the children were excused from schooling.